Haveuseenmysanity's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hoppy Easter and all that jazz!! April 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — haveuseenmysanity @ 9:15pm04

Easter was amazing!

Really amazing!

No drama with the MIL. No uncomfortable silences as we all try to completely ignore the HUGE elephant in the room! It was seriously and honestly the most calm and peaceful holiday our family has had in almost 7 years!

We usually get up. MAD dash through a quick and less than awesome breakfast. We then spend the next hour screaming and yelling at all the Crazies to hurry up and get dressed and ready!

“Did you brush your teeth?”  NO? Seriously? I’ve only been reminding you about this very needed daily task for…15 YEARS!!!!

” NO! You CANNOT wear jeans with holes in them today! IT’S A HOLIDAY DAMN IT AND WE WILL LOOK NICE AND SMILE!”

Then we all pack into the car ….everyone angry and completely irritated.

We drive to our first obligatory stop.

See…..holidays always suck in my eyes because my family doesn’t live nearby. They live in Idaho and other far, far away lands. So every holiday, birthday,anniversary….EVERY EVERYTHING…..is spent with my in laws. Not that I hate ALL of them or even dislike ALL of them. I sincerely have alot of love for almost ALL of the hubs family. But there are a couple that…..I just have had enough of. One of which happens to be my very meddlesome, intrusive and disrespectful MIL. AWKWARD!!! Holidays are tough. We all  spend the day running to hell and back trying to make sure , GOD FORBID, we don’t miss anyone or fail to do what they want us to do on these holidays! And all the while I am so desperately missing my own family! NOT that my hubs family isn’t my family too but you know how it is? When you are with your own parents…they get you. They understand that you answering the door on Christmas day in jammies and slippers? Just the norm! They understand that when you offer them a strong drink at 9:00 am? It’s just the family norm! My family just gets me! And they even love me in spite of myself! My in laws? SOME love me in spite of myself. Others like the whole…kick you when your down method of things.

Got off subject….sorry.

The point is. This was the best holiday ever!

It was Crazy #5’s 1st Easter.

Mr. Easter Bunny got up at 6:00am and hid 60 candy filled eggs in our yard.

A dear family friend showed up with all kinds of awesome, yummy goodness. Easter baskets. Doughnuts. Apple turnovers. Just a whole huge pile of yum!

The kids went outside and hunted for eggs in the pouring rain and it was AMAZING! SO AMAZING!

We came in and had breakfast. When WE wanted to! Food WE wanted!

And then…wait for it……the hubs and I actually sat down together and watched a movie when the two wee ones napped and the older ones hung out together! We literally sat in our jammies and watched an entire movie!!!!

And then we got our lazy asses off the couch( when WE wanted to) and got dressed and went to his dad’s house for dinner.

Ok….so we didn’t do anything super amazing or exciting.

But just being together!

Being able to do what we wanted with our kids?

Being able to sit and watch our kids actually enjoy a holiday?

Not rushing to three or four different places. Trying to please everyone and in the end everyone still not being happy? Least of all….US and our children?

Got me to thinking.

Why do holidays always have to be so crazy?

Why can’t we all just speak the truth and say…NO! Running to four different places on Thanksgiving. Christmas. Easter. Mother’s Day. Father’s Day. Really and trully does not sound like something I want to do! Why when we get married is there always one side who never ever see’s their family and one side that gets to control and manipulate every single holiday and important event in our lives?

This Easter I said NO!

HELL TO THE NO!

And you know what?

It was the best holiday ever!

Calm and peace.

That is what I am striving to have in my life this year!

I am stepping on toes along the way but honestly?

I really don’t care!

I want my kids to enjoy their holidays.

I want them to look back and have happy memories.

So if that means mommy has to step up and say HELL NO?

I am completely fine with that!

So Hoppy Easter ( a little late) to you all!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

2 Responses to “Hoppy Easter and all that jazz!!”

  1. Christy Says:

    Oh my, how cathartic to write that and not get in trouble! yay for you kristy. Sounds like a great day…..and now that you know…you can do it from here on out! LOVE Owen’s hair! Cute cute cute boys. You are so blessed!
    love you!

  2. Tia Brown Says:

    I’m so frickin proud of you! This is exactly what you needed( Wait, NO, deserved). An effortless holiday. Hope many more holidays to come are this relaxed and ALL about you guys and your boys. Keep stepping on those toes. Love you all!!!


Leave a Reply

